Rules & Environment / Equipment / Formats / Terms

Cricket is a bat-and-ball game played between two teams of eleven players each on a field at the centre of which is a 22-yard (20-metre) pitch with a wicket at each end. Each comprising two bails balanced on three stumps.

Cricket is a sport that has been tracked back to the early 16th century and has been a popular ever since. Having originated in south-east England, it became an established sport in the country in the 18th century and developed globally in the 19th and 20th centuries. International matches have been played since the 19th-century and formal Test cricket matches are considered to date from 1877. Cricket is the world’s second most popular spectator sport after association football. The pinnacle of the international game comes in the form of the Cricket World Cup. Other major events include the T20 World Cup, Test Series and One Day series.

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)

The BCCI is the governing body for cricket in India. Its headquarters is situated at Wankhede stadium in Mumbai, Maharashtra.

It is an autonomous organisation and does not come under National sports federation of India. The board was formed in December 1928 as a society, registered under the Tamil Nadu Societies Registration Act. BCCI does not review any grants or fundings from Sports ministry of India. It is a consortium of state cricket associations, and the state associations select their representatives who in turn elect the BCCI president.

BCCI have three International Cricket teams which represent India in international cricket, that is India men’s national cricket team and India women’s national cricket team and India national under-19 cricket team. Also it manage India A team. The board organise matches and do scheduling for these teams.

BCCI is the richest cricket board in the world and is part of ‘Big three’ of international cricket along with Cricket Australia and England and Wales Cricket Board.

The BCCI organises the following domestic cricket competitions:

Men’s domestic cricket:

  • Ranji Trophy
  • Vijay Hazare Trophy
  • Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy
  • Duleep Trophy
  • Irani Cup
  • Deodhar Trophy
  • Indian Premier League (IPL)
  • BCCI Corporate Trophy

Women’s domestic cricket:

  • Women’s Senior One Day Trophy
  • Senior Women’s Challenger Trophy
  • Senior Women’s T20 League
  • Senior Women’s T20 Challenger Cup
  • Women’s T20 Challenge

Indian Premier League(IPL)

The IPL is contested by ten teams based out of seven Indian cities and three Indian states. The league was founded by the BCCI in 2007. It is usually held between March and May of every year .

The IPL is the most-attended cricket league in the world and in 2014 was ranked sixth by average attendance among all sports leagues. In 2010, the IPL became the first sporting event in the world to be broadcast live on YouTube.

Currently with ten teams. After the league stage, the top four teams will qualify for the playoffs. The top two teams from the league phase will play against each other in the first Qualifying match, with the winner going straight to the IPL final and the loser getting another chance to qualify for the IPL final by playing the second Qualifying match. Meanwhile, the third and fourth place teams from the league phase play against each other in an eliminator match and the winner from that match will play the loser from the first Qualifying match. The winner of the second Qualifying match will move onto the final to play the winner of the first Qualifying match in the IPL Final match, where the winner will be crowned the Indian Premier League champions.

There have been fifteen seasons of the IPL tournament. The current IPL title holder franchise is Gujarat Titans.