Cricket has long been seen as a religion in India and can be found playing everywhere from playgrounds and lanes to every corner of the country. The country’s passion for cricket is unparalleled, and the game has a rich history in India that dates back to the colonial era.

Today, India is one of the top cricketing nations in the world. India hosts both domestic and international cricket tournaments every year that fall under the jurisdiction of Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). In this article, we will take a comprehensive look at some of the most popular cricket tournaments in India.

Indian Premier League (IPL)

IPL 2022: match schedule, start date, players and all you need to know

The Indian Premier League, commonly known as the IPL, is the most popular domestic T20 cricket league in the world. The tournament was founded in 2008, and it has quickly become a fan favorite due to its high-octane cricket and star-studded line-ups. The IPL consists of eight franchise teams representing different cities in India, and each team plays a total of 14 matches in a league format, followed by playoffs and a grand final. The league is known for its big money contracts, with players like Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, and Rohit Sharma earning multi-million dollar salaries.

2008Rajasthan RoyalsChennai Super Kings
2009Deccan ChargersRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2010Chennai Super KingsMumbai Indians
2011Chennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2012Kolkata Knight RidersChennai Super Kings
2013Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
2014Kolkata Knight RidersKings XI Punjab
2015Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
2016Sunrisers HyderabadRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2017Mumbai IndiansRising Pune Supergiants
2018Chennai Super KingsSunrisers Hyderabad
2019Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
2020Mumbai IndiansDelhi Capitals
2021Chennai Super KingsKolkata Knight Riders
2022Gujarat TitansRajasthan Royals

Also Read :

Ranji Trophy

Top Cricket Tournaments in India | India Sports Blogs, Stats and News

The Ranji Trophy is one of India’s oldest and most renowned first-class cricket tournaments, organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and featuring multiple teams from regional and state cricket associations. First played during 1934-35, its name commemorates Sir Ranjitsinhji Vibhaji of Nawanagar who first created it.

This tournament consists of 38 teams representing different states and regions of India and divided between Elite and Plate divisions, competing for the Ranji Trophy award. The teams are divided into four groups, and each team plays a total of eight matches in a round-robin format. The top teams from each group qualify for the knockout stage, which includes quarterfinals, semifinals, and a grand final.

2011-12RajasthanTamil Nadu
2014-15KarnatakaTamil Nadu
2021-22Madhya PradeshMumbai

Vijay Hazare Trophy

विजय हजारे ट्रॉफी फाइनल: सौराष्ट्र ने महाराष्ट्र को 5 विकेट से हराया |

Vijay Hazare Trophy, honoring revered Indian legend Vijay Samuel Hazare, is one of the premier domestic one-day cricket tournaments in India. The tournament has been held annually since 2002-03. Administered by BCCI and featuring 38 Ranji Trophy teams competing across eight divisions, this limited-overs competition has quickly established itself within mainstream cricket as an event worthy of respect.

The teams are divided into five groups, and each team plays a total of eight matches in a round-robin format. The top teams from each group qualify for the knockout stage. Tamil Nadu have won five vijay hazare trophy championships to date while Mumbai and Karnataka both occupying fourth spots have shown that these teams dominate this competition from its inception.

2016-17Tamil NaduBengal
2019-20KarnatakaTamil Nadu
2020-21MumbaiUttar Pradesh
2021-22Himachal PradeshTamil Nadu

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2022: Schedule, Groups, Venues, Telecast and Live  Streaming Info - myKhel

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is an annual domestic T20 competition organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India for Ranji Trophy teams since its inaugural edition in 2006-07. The tournament is named after the legendary Indian cricketer Syed Mushtaq Ali, and it consists of 38 teams representing different states and regions of India.

The 2022 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will introduce an Impact Player Substitution rule designed to add inconsequential disruption into cricket matches by permitting teams to make one substitution from their playing XI during any one innings. Tamil Nadu have proven themselves victorious three times thus far!

2010-11BengalMadhya Pradesh
2013-14BarodaUttar Pradesh
2015-16Uttar PradeshBaroda
2016-17East ZoneCentral Zone
2019-20KarnatakaTamil Nadu
2020-21Tamil NaduBaroda
2021-22Tamil NaduKarnataka
2022-23MumbaiHimachal Pradesh

Challenger Trophy

The Challenger Trophy is an annual day/night limited-overs tournament hosted by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) prior to Ranji season’s commencement, held before Ranji season begins in September. Established by BCCI in 1994 with an aim to showcase India’s talent while giving younger players exposure; previously known as NKP Salve Challenger Trophy due to former BCCI President NK P Salve who helped bring World Cup back home.

This tournament comprises of three teams representing India: Senior, A, and B (renamed to Blue, Red and Green following 2005’s edition of tournament).

Irani Trophy

Irani Cup 2022-23 final: Rest of India crowned champions

The Irani Trophy, a five-day first class cricket tournament established in 1959-60 and played between Ranji Trophy champions and Rest of India teams since 1960, has been named for former BCCI treasurer and president Zal Irani and traditionally started before Ranji Trophy final. Since 2012 it has also been played immediately following Ranji Trophy final.

Duleep Trophy

The Duleep Trophy, organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India and named in honour of Kumar Duleepsinhji (an English test cricketer of Indian origin). It first took place during 1961-62. 2022-23 will see the tournament return to its zonal format, featuring five teams from Chennai-Puducherry-Coimbatore-Salem as well as one new North East zone team. There will be two quarter-finals, two semi-finals, and a final. These matches will take place between January and May at Chennai Puducherry-Coimbatore and Salem respectively.


India is home to a number of prestigious cricket tournaments that attract millions of fans from all over the world. From the high-profile Indian Premier League to the traditional Ranji Trophy, these tournaments showcase the best of Indian cricket talent and provide a platform for upcoming players to showcase their skills. With the popularity of cricket only increasing in India, we can expect these tournaments to continue to grow in stature and provide memorable moments for years to come.